Some people say that all popular TV entertainment programmes should aim to educate viewers about important social issues. with this statement?

There are people, who believe that all programmes on TV ought to be only about important social issues. Personally, I do not agree, because people should to have a chance to rest from serious problems and also to educate themselves. Moreover, not all people are interested in these kinds of issues. To begin with, people should have an equilibrium in their lives between seriousness and fun. If they lack it their mental condition can very easily deteriorate. Making focus on only serious social problems we become too stressed and eaven we are more prone to get depressed or develop an anxiety. Having fun and entertainment in our life we maintain our sanity and positiveness. For example, recently a number of people have not been watching everyday coronavirus updates to avoid distress. Furthermore, entertaining programmes which are not devoted to serious social issues have educational value and are needed. We can learn from them about life of animals, history, geography, life of other cultures. For instance, children in the UK have an opportunity to learn about history via a very funny programme called Horrible History. Another reason why not only these kinds of programme should be available is that not everyone is interested in them. There are people, who do not pay attention to social issues and they also should be able to watch TV programmes, which are designed for them. For example, some people are interested only in watching movies, serials or documentaries. In summary, apart from entertainment programmes devoted to serious social issues, people should have a chance to enjoy various programmes. Those last ones also have a plethora of perks. They deliver an opportunity to relax, distance ourselves from problems hence maintain good mental health, they educate and are not the only interest for some people.