Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

There is vast development in transport system with the invention of car. However, carowners have been increasing substantially, that many urban areas are prone to traffic congestion. I completely agree with the aforementioned statement, and in the forthcoming paragraphs I will give reasons to support my answer. Additionally, I will suggest ways by which government can prevent people from using cars. To commence with, car palys a significant part in human life, as it has made the commuting convenient. However, over the past thirty years its number has increased rapidly. Earlier, where a family owns only one car is now owning two to three cars. Undoubtedly, there are ample of reasons, such as, members may be travelling at differnt location or their time varies. A newpaper article evidenced that, on an average a family owns three cars in cities like Tokyo, New York and London. Consequently, there is a huge traffic jam in those countries. On the other hand, government ought to play a crucial role to discourage people from using cars. Firstly, they can improve the public transport system. When masses receive better provision to commute, use of private vehicles will automatically reduce. Secondly, authorities can pressurize the car manufacturers to hike the car price. In addition, increasing interest rate to avail car loan can also bring their number down. A survey conducted by a Non Government Organisation in Korea suggested, 80% of Korean population agrees their transport system is fastest, cheapest and easiest compared to other counyries. Therefore, individuals merely use private vehicles. In conclusion, although number of cars have increased in past many years, governments role is inevitable to mitigate the detrimental effect. Furthermore, there are innumerable ways to deal with it.