Some people think that students should learn a range of practical skills at school (such as car maintenance or accountancy) alongside traditional subjects like maths and physics. with this view?

School life is the best time for learning and acquiring something unique and new. Many people consider that students in this life should acquire useful real life skill simultaneously with conventional subjects such as mathematics and physics. I totally disagree with this notion and will present my views regarding it. Undoubtedly, things learnt in childhood have permanent impression in our lives and one is able to imbibe much during this period. However, it does not mean that children should be overburdened with number of practical skills along with their usual subjects. Adding a range of skills would definitely add to the miseries of school going children. This is because of the fact that children are already doing a lot in the present era. For instance, on an average, the normal schedule of school students are studying long list of traditional subjects, participating in sports and co-curriculum activities, coping up with latest technological gadgets, doing home work, managing tuitions and maintaining discipline for long hours. Following such a stringent regime regularly leave no room for other special skills. Another probable reason for not learning car maintenance and accounting at the tender age would be the monotony of these skills. Childhood is said to be the period of having fun and free from elderly responsibilities. Introducing boring practical skills early during school times would take away the innocence and enjoyment of most of the students. They will no longer be able to see the beauty of life. Rather, they have to go through the harsh realities of life which may turn their life to a miserable one. Moreover, students should learn what is more important to them and would help them much in their later ages, that is, their traditional fundamental subjects. The concentration on mathematics, physics and other sciences will suffer when facing with more skills to learn. These subjects acts as a foundation stone for all students and sidelining these in the name of inculcating practicalities would darken the future of a child. In conclusion, practical skills at schools is not a viable option for students as it would cost much than giving benefits to the children. In fact, these skills is more convenient to learn in the employment years of an individual.