Many people choose to work or live abroad because of the higher standards of living they can find outside their home country. Do you think this brings more advantages or disadvantages to the people who follow this path? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

The advancement in communication and transportation has led to an increase in the movement of people and services from one country to another. A significant number of individuals opt to migrate from third world countries to develop states in search of improved living conditions. This essay agrees with the suggestion that this trend comes with more benefits than otherwise for people who decide to follow this path. One obvious reason people, especially professionals, relocate to an advanced nation is because of the better job prospect. In such places, there are sufficient opportunities to secure good-paying jobs solely on qualification or skill. For example, a survey conducted amongst medical practitioners in 2019 by the ministry of health in Dakar, Senegal revealed that over 70% of doctors indicated their willingness to leave their jobs for a new offer in the health sector in France. In addition to the point highlighted above, another reason a person may choose to migrate to another country is because of the access to adequate social amenities. Due to the poor state of public facilities such as roads, healthcare system and electricity in under-developed countries, citizens of such states may be encouraged to move overseas for improved welfare. Thus, families make the decision, including my brother's, to move their children abroad where they are exposed to a superior standard of education and affordable healthcare. Conclusively, it would be erroneous not to mention the downside of moving overseas, namely brain drain, which occurs when a large number of experts trade their home nations for another. Also, the inability to adapt to a new culture is a potential challenge. However, advantages such as favourable job opportunities, access to adequate health facilities and education outweigh the adverse effects.