In many countries today insufficient respect is shown to older people. What do you think may be the reasons for this? What problems might this cause in society?

Respect is greatly recognized in many countries for it is part of salient culture. However, it has been observed that the respect being bestowed to elderly people is gradually declining. Surely, this trend happened due to the indifferences arising in between the seniors and the youth, and the way it affects the society cannot be neglected. Firstly, the decline on respect to old people is due to how parents nurture their kids inside the home. Parents are considered the most influencial person infront of the kids but there are vast number of them dedicating more time on work thereby neglecting their duty to teach the kids morality. For instance, single parents have to work hardly and have no choice but to leave their child in the care of a nanny. On top of this, young generations are more occupied with materialistic possesions and are pampered by parents to which they are given so much freedom, unlike in the ancient times that all work were done using their bare hands and children had to lend a hand. Since parents are unable to teach the kids on the value of respecting others, they will find it unnecessary to show proper respect to elder people. As a result, they will fail to teach succeeding generations about mutual respect and family values which will certainly invade and stain the harmonious life in the society. In addition, the demographic changes on the advancement of science and tehnology is greying the society as a whole. The greater exposure and dependence of the youth to technologies severs the relationship between families and deviates the study of history and culture. To recapitulate, we are living in a society where senior citizens are big contributors, thus must be shown admirable respect and gratitude. Parents should, no matter what, continue to educate kids to respect old people and should also regulate the usage of technology inside the home to alleviate factors that puts distance between families. These will help to achieve a hamonious society.