Some people think that students in single-sex schools perform better academically. Others, however; believe that mixed schools provide children with better social skills for adult life.

It is indeed that the elementary education has a predominant impact on the student’s academic performance. Few intellectuals opine that the difficult subjects such as maths and philosophy should not be mandatory. I partially disagree with the above notion and my supporting arguments are discussed further. To begin with, the influence of the subject such as mathematics is decisive on the academic performance of the adolescent. The analytical subject of the maths empowers a child not only in his rational thinking but also useful in his daily life. Although, the pupils find unease on this subject, it must be included in their elementary study curriculum. Moreover, the students can learn many advanced subjects effectively with the help of a proper understanding of the basic mathematics subject. For instance, the algebra of the maths is useful in commerce stream, the theorems are used in the engineering field. Thus, the few subjects must be compulsory for the students as well as the tutors have to inculcate their interest in such subjects. However, there are few subjects, which are not related to other subjects such as philosophy. This subject has its own importance; it is not used in a daily life of the pupils. Therefore, such advanced subject which draws the less attention of the students should be kept optional in their higher education. The major advantage of this practice will improve the productivity of the adolescents in their studies. For instance, an engineering student need not devote his efforts to philosophy subject. As a result, he can focus more in his core study and finds the study more lucrative. In conclusion, every subject has its own characteristic, based on which the academicians should design the curriculums of their pupils. In my opinion, the basic elementary subjects such as maths, English and science should be mandatory, whereas the advanced subjects should be chosen by the students according to their field of interest.