Some people think that students in high or secondary school can choose courses freely, others think that courses such as mathematics must be compulsory.

It is a controversial topic in education whether high or secondary schools’ pupils should be freed to learn to prefer subjects or they must study a variety of subjects, such as mathematics as the norm. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument, but, in my view, I concur with the second view. On the one hand, the primary reasons why people think that students in high or secondary educational institutions should be allowed to choose courses freely. Freely choosing a subject in their ability and desirability make an effort in the learning process and avoid dropping out of school halfway. The current survey of several schools setting a compulsory curriculum shows an inclination toward a higher possibility of pupils who are deemed to have no interest and often skip school when it comes to a specific subject, such as mathematics and English. However they fully attend plenty of classes, such as literature and history, even can have good achievement. In other words, mandatory study of some subjects is infeasible for a section of students. On the other hand, critics of the previous idea who think that courses such as mathematics must be forced into certain key subject areas because they are perhaps to decide students’ career. In fact that all of high and secondary schools put mathematics in the school curriculum as unchangeable because it is one of the most important subject to evaluate students’ logical thinking, which is a prerequisite for job recruitment. Architecture, as an illustration, required high logical thinking in terms of 3D geometry and architectural structures, which are of paramount importance to erect a safe building; these skills are associated closely with mathematics. In conclusion, some people think that high or secondary schools students should be accessible in choosing courses because they do not have aptitude in some fields, such as mathematics; however, it should be a mandatory subject in the school curriculum due to its connection with the future.