Some people think that staying in hotels is not a good option to know about a country or its people. What do you think about this viewpoint?

Hostel is a residence where students and bachelors stay away from their family either for their study or their career purpose. The accommodation will be provided to us when we agree to their terms and conditions and paying the rent. Many people think that staying in hostels will not help to know about a country. I totally disagree with this statement. Firstly, many people from various places come and live in hostels. They live together here as a family. Persons from different areas have their own culture and beliefs. They will explain about their places to friends here. Let me give an example that happened in my life. I lived in hostel for about 16 years from my first class. I made many friends of various areas. At that time, I became close to them in a way that we share everything. I came to know about their life style, festivals, culture and beliefs. In this way, I got to know how distinct were the cultures all over the India. To conclude, hostel is the best place to know about the country without travelling.