prevention is better than cure

Its a lame proverb we have all been hearing throughout our lives. But when we ponder upon the same, our thoughts navigate into those depressive times we had to face, probably when we were affected by some nasty illness. Most often the idea that, if I would have cared a little bit, I wouldn't have to be on this bed is the one of the rattling voices in our heads that we all share, no matter whatever be our illness. Perhaps, we may be true thinking that. Its an undebatable fact that our medical system have achieved great accomplishments in vast areas including analgesics, genecology, and various other fields. Not only that, they provide medical services to everyone at much cheaper rates than they did a few years before, as the manufacture of medicines have flourished and large quantities are being made economically. For example, an iron deficiency can easily be tackled by a 1 dollar note. But saying that, does it mean we need to be less cautious when it comes to health? Of course not. Even though the hospitals are at your doorsteps, its our job to safeguard ourselves and our dear ones from diseases. Because the physical and emotional toll a disease can take on us is beyond fathom. Firstly, it affects the person's day to day lives. He/she wont be able to perform his/her daily chores and one will have to abstain from work or school if one's health is affected. Not only that, a disease not only affects the person, but also the family and the loved ones. Even if it is not contingent, the other members have to retire from their work as well even if its for a short period of time. The situation is much worse if the disease is contingent. Every member will be at the risk of disease attack and sometimes they all can fall ill. In short, a disease scavenges on our time, health and money if we pay no heed to it. There is another proverb which says a stitch in time saves nine. It can be applied here. Its always better to take necessary actions before the matter becomes worse. Similarly, when we are healthy, if we take proper care of our bodies by exercising, eating healthy and taking necessary supplements, to an extend we can prevent diseases. And in a long run, it will finally be beneficial for us. After all who doesn't love to save money to spend it on exotic beaches than dreadful hospitals.