Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believethere are better alternative ways of reducing crime. npyg

Increasing crime rate poses a massive threat to the community, and a matter of immediate concern for theauthorities. The government ensures all possible measures to tame down the violent activities and take sternaction against the punitive offender. A section of people believe that, the best way to contain the increasednumber of the crime rates by throwing the criminals behind the bars for longer sentence, while others support theidea of better alternatives to reduce the growing criminal offenses. This article highlights both the aspect of it. Longer prison sentence to keep the accused behind the bar reflects government stern stand against offensive ruleviolators, and reduce the possibility of future threats. The criminals do not think about the rules beforecommitting murder or any other crimes, and take the law for granted. Hence, by giving them long prisonsentence sends a positive message to society, that stern action would be taken against violators. For instance, take the recent concluded clash of protesters with police, where they put the government building on fire duringtheir peace protest. However, government has not stopped there and took strict actions against the peopleinvolved in it and announced life imprisonment for all the accused by setting an example. Similarly, the strictactions from the authorities balance the society and brings harmony. Having said that the longer prison sentence keep the criminals checked, but there are alternative to reduce thecrime by stopping them right at the first place. One of the possible solution is bringing awareness about the lawto the citizen and educating them about the possible consequences for breaking law. In addition to that, improvethe safety regulation and remove possible loophole in the current judiciary system thereby ensuring bettercontainment action against fraudulent. Considering the increased unemployment rate among the people whichforce them to do unlawful activity, providing better job opportunity for the skilled would help to reduce thecrime rate considerably. To conclude my argument, longer prison sentence helps to put a break on the insanely growing criminal activity, and sends a clear message to the society. Additionally, there are alternative ways to reduce the crime rates byeducating, bringing law awareness and providing ample employment opportunity to the countrymen can help usto reduce the offensive acts.