Some people think that staying in hotels is not a good option to know about a country or its people. What do you think about this viewpoint?

with the passage of time, various lodgings has become available for travelling people. However, some persons believe that it is not helpful in learning about the country and inhabitants. In my viewpoint, staying in hotel can be both good and bad depending on aesthetics and workings of the place. As for why people think it is not a good idea to stay in the hotel, there are umpteen reasons. The main one is that most of the tourist dwelling of present day are matched with the needs of worldwide public than host country environment which contributes to less awareness of the nations uniqueness. For instance, 5 star hotels in India often constructed while keeping the needs of worldwide audience in mind which leaves little space for cultural and traditional things. However, I do not completely agree with this notion as there are some suits which help to keep the uniqueness of culture and traditions of the country. A fine example of this is Ryokan - a traditional Japanese inn which typically features tatami-matted rooms, communal baths and several other facilities such as allowing people to wear national cloth (Yukata) and so on. In addition, it is much easier to live in a hotel with colleagues and fellow tourists then the native people who are stranger to every traveller. Beside this, there are many other ways of gaining knowledge about the country and its indigenous population like visiting historical places, meeting native people, reading books and etcetera. To end, whether to stay in the hotel or the live-in facilities provided by native people, it is a persons choice than the public. As, everyone feel comfort in different environments.