Some people think that spending a lot on holding wedding parties, birthday parties and other celebrations is just a waste of money. Others, however, think that these are necessary for individuals and the society.

Amount of money spent on wedding parties, birthday parties and other celebrations is a topic of divide among people. People have split opinion on how much should one spend on such occasions. One group of people believe that one is better off spending less amount of money on celebrations. This beleif is supported by argument that there are always better avenues and ways in which the money spent can be utilized. One can invest that money, use it for buying some goods which might add value to daily life or just simply save it for a rainy day. Other argument which strengthens this beleif is that often people borrow money to spend on such celebrations. Now, in such cases the celebration takes form of social evil. It is argued that such behaviour should be discouraged and people should be encouraged to be financially prudent. On other hand we have a set of people who think that the money spent on such celebrations is a nacessacity. Such people weigh in the social aspects of celebrations which can't be quantified in terms of financial gains or loss. Human by their very nature are social and the get-togathers bring in all the near and dear ones, provide a platform where people can share their happiness and sorrows. Our civilization in the past have been built around such celebrations which we today refer to as festivals, thus their importance is undeniable. I personally reckon that yes, it is important to celebrate but one should spend within their limits. Putting onself in financial burden is not a wise thing. Excess of everything is bad, so people should focus on getting maximum joy out of their money by utilizing it properly rather than doing away with celebrations altogather. Celebrations as a tradition have existed for a reason and we should continue this tradition without turning it into a social malpractice.