Some people think that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society.

Social networking platforms have become part of people’s lives, but according to some, the overuse of social media has also caused some problems in our society. In my opinion, I think there are some negative aspects of social networking sites, but the positive parts cannot be ignored. Admittedly, there are some fundamental disadvantages of social media. Firstly, being constantly online cuts people off from their immediate surroundings and disrupts face-to-face communication. This drives us further apart and our everyday reality is gradually being supplanted by virtual worlds. Secondly, anonymity and the absence of direct interaction can promote an uncivil or even aggressive style of communication, which becomes the reason why some are becoming the victims of cyberbully. Furthermore, social media platforms are too often used to spread malicious gossip or false information, which will mislead the public and affect the harmonious(harmony) of society. (society’s harmony) Nevertheless, despite the negative impacts above, I believe social networking sites bring people closer together and benefit communication. On the one hand, social media makes spoken and written communication between people possible anytime, anywhere. Everyone can find countless like-minded people with whom they can share thoughts, photographs and life experiences. With social networks, tracking down long-lost friends is relatively simple. On the other hand, social media provides a platform for people to discuss local or international issues and may influence political decisions. People will have more opportunities to take part in(participate in) the government’s decision-making and feel a sense of belonging to the states.