In the last 20 years there have been significant developments in the field of information technology (IT), for example the World Wide Web and communication by email. However, these developments in IT are likely to have more negative effects than positive in the future.

The last two decades have seen enormous changes in the way people’s lives are affected by IT, with many advances in this field. However, while these developments have brought many benefits to the world, I strongly believe that these developments result in more negative impacts than positives. On the positive side, emails have made especially, abroad much simpler and easier. This has brought numerous benefits for commerce and business, as there is no need to wait weeks for letters or time take sending faxes, which was the case in the past. Furthermore, world wide web means the information on every conceivable subjects are now available to us. For example, people can access news, medical advices, online educational courses and many more via internet. These developments have made life far easier and more convenient for many. Nevertheless, the effects of these developments have not all been beneficial. Many people feel it has led to destroy our traditional forms of communication such as letter writing, telephone and face-to-face conversation. In addition, the large size of the web has meant that it is nearly impossible to regulate and control. This raises many concerns regarding children accessing unsuitable websites and spread of computer viruses. In the future, these problem might get even worse if more regulated systems are set up. In conclusion, it is seen that technology has brought many benefits for us, yet I believe these are outweighed by drawbacks. In the future, these will need to be addressed if we are to avoid destroying impacts on individuals and society.