hosting an international sports event

Some people argue that international events bring prosperity, enthusiasm, entertainment and business for the hosting nation. Others claim that it could have awful consequences and severe negative effect on the lives of local people. Firstly, sporting tournaments play a pivotal role in strengthening the economy of the organising country. Numerous tourists and visitors attend these events to support and lift up the morale of their teams. Local people observe a dramatic rise in the sales of their goods and services. Secondly, sport is a source of entertainment and fun for its followers. People get the chance to meet and enjoy the performance of their favourite sports star. Thirdly, it provides an opportunity to meet new people and understand their culture and traditions that could substantially decrease the tension between the people of rival countries. International sporting events also popularise a country to the world and thus the potential tourism industry of this country gets benefits from that. Nevertheless, it is often seen that people burst out as their team lose the match that could provoke the situation on the ground and make it a battlefield. Additionally, congestion, adequate accommodation and visitor's safety are the few issues that are caused by these events. During the 2018 ASEAN games in Indonesia, a record number of thefts and stolen cases were reported. To tackle such problems required enormous funds and detailed planning. To sum up, I would like to say that I agree that hosting international event gives more advantages than cons but on the other hands the country needs several actions to minimize some risk that will arise.