Some people think that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society.

In recent years, the use of social media sites such as Facebook and Instagram has increased significantly. Some people deem that Facebook has a detrimental impact on both individuals and society. I strongly agree with this idea. I support my view by presenting 2 reasons. In what follows, I will touch upon each of them separately. First and foremost, young individuals who spend an excessive amount of time on social media, become depressed and isolated from their family and society. Because they keep themselves locked in a room for few hours and wasting their time on Facebook and chatting with strangers. Initially, they enjoy this habit, however, over time they become addicted. For instance, in China, social media addiction is one of the major issues, and there are many centers to help people who suffer from this problem. Apart from the first point I made above, Facebook and other social networking has a negative effect on pupils’ educational performance. They spend most of their time on this networking and cannot concentrate on their lessons, consequently they get poorer grades in school. In addition, these sites harm society as well. There is a significant rise in crimes in society, which is due to social networking. By way of illustration, many attackers hack the public profile of celebrities, then start blackmailing them. Moreover, some criminals target young boys and girls by creating fake profiles. One real concern is the increase in the amount of fraud, where for example, people are using the personal data of others, which they put online for criminal purposes. In conclusion, it is clear that social-sites have a harmful impact on both people and society, as they lead to isolation among individuals and cause more crimes in the community. Therefore, I firmly believe that it is a negative phenomenon and individuals should be more careful while using such websites.