The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

There have been various changes in societal structure in past decade. Specially, in children, obesity seemed to have increased almost by 20% in western society. The preliminary reason responsible for this, is the choice of food, followed by the lifestyle. Firstly, there has been a complete change in the diet patterns, where healthy and nutritious food is less likely to be consumed by everyone. When it comes to children, they follow the same trend, ending with unhealthy junk food. The reason behind this is ease of availability and cooking. Secondly, apart from nourishment, a number of children prefer to spend more time on mobile phones and televisions, thus, they had extremely limited exposures to field games. This way, they lose the opportunity to burn fat and end up gaining more weight. Although, heredity is responsible for higher body weight, it seems to have immensely limited impact on the percentage of population. On the other side, these habits may have a serious impact in future generation. As obese children grew into adults, they lend to be lethargic and uninterested towards physical work. This further increase obesity which is the root cause of various other diseases including diabetes and heart stoke. Higher weight also impacts an individual’s personality and confidence. It is observed that, fat people frequently feel nervous during public appearances and avoid being leaders. In a nutshell, it is correctly said that a healthy mind rests in a healthy body. It is a social responsibility to nurture healthy children right from their early stages, for a better world