Some people think that social media is important. While others think that it is a waste of time.

In this technological advanced era, social media has become an important part of everybody’s life. One part of the society believes that it is very beneficial for us and the others think that it is full of demerits. This essay will further discuss about both the opinions subsequently. Social media helps people to connect with rest of the world. Firstly, it is very important to find long lost friends and relatives. We certainly lose touch with some of the old friends, but we can look for them through these applications with a touch of fingers. For instance, Facebook and Instagram are widely used websites to search for anybody online. Secondly, social media applications prove to be advantageous when it comes to giving notices to many persons with a single go. For example, Apps like WhatsApp and Telegram are nowadays generously being used by the stakeholders of some of the small and large scales institutions for giving information to their employees. Moreover, it also helps us find about what is happening in the world. Many pages provide us with the news to keep us updated about everything. While there are numerous pros of having social media, there are various cons that come along with it. To begin with, it might act as a distraction for some. One can get stuck on few entertainment apps such as, Tik-Tok or Instagram reels. Scrolling through these sites for hours without even realizing the time is not a strange thing to occur presently. Adding to the demerits of social media, many people sit there waiting to steal personal information of individuals that may lead to many detrimental effects. Hackers and stalkers may try to get their hands on private pictures and other things. Additionally, we may find many fake news in there. Folks try to get as many likes and comments on their posts that they can. So, they create a fake story to do so which in turn earns them money. In conclusion, social media has various advantages as well as disadvantages. It brings us together but may also be harmful to us sometimes. In my opinion, one can use these sites for entertainment and to find our near and dear ones. But concentration and sense of security should be there.