Some people think that shops should sell food products from the local areas rather than products from other countries. Do you agree or disagree?’

These days, stores are stocked with both local and foreign products. Some individuals argue that most store owners do not patronize and encourage locally made products, which does not encourage people to produce traditionally. Stores should sell local foods rather than imported foods The reasons for my opinion will be discussed below. Businesses should deal with homemade foods instead of foreign foods because it is cost-effective. Comparing the price of both foreign and locally produced perishable goods, one will observe that it is more expensive as it comprises of cost of shipment, preservation, packaging coupled with the selling price. Not just expensive, imported perishable goods are also unhealthy for human consumption because of the preservatives added to it that could also lead to food poisoning. Another reason why shops should market indigenous foods rather than foreign foods is that patronizing goods produced locally encourages employment. The rate of unemployment, as well as youths roaming about streets, will be reduced because individuals will be given the opportunity to work and earn an income. This will also motivate individuals to bring their A-game to work. In conclusion, when stores stock up produce from their locality, the rate of unemployment will be reduced, people will save costs and consume fresh foods.