In the modern world, many children spend a lot of time in front of computers, televisions and smartphones. This is very harmful to them. To what extent do you agree?

Children, today, are fond of using modern day electronic gadgets. These activities are harmful to them. I totally agree to the this for my own reasons, which I will discuss in this essay. Modern day gadgets like computers, televisions and mobile phones emit hazardous light rays which are very harmful to children’s eyes. While these activities might be entertaining, but at the cost of their eyesight! This is the prime reason why, today, children wearing spectacles is a common sight to see. One might inquire if my argument is really true? It, as a matter of fact, has long been proved by doctors that the light energy from screens of these appliances afflicts retina, which is one of the layers of the eyeballs, badly. God forbid, excessive exposure to computer screens might even leave a child blind! Second, when a child is engaged more in watching TV shows and playing games on a computer or mobile phone, he might miss out on his mental growth. Since, for a productive mental development, children ought to have an exposure to the outside world; how is a child supposed to indulge in outdoor activities with his age-fellows when all he does is press a button on TV remote or scroll through his smartphone screen? That is where anti-social behaviour takes its lead and such children grow up to be shy and, unfortunately, cowards! To sum up, electronic gadgets attract a lot of children in the current era. These are very harmful to them. In my opinion, such science-made products are the reasons why eyesight damage and anti-social behaviour in children are the talk of the day.