Some people think that secondary school children should study international news as one of the school subjects. Other people think that it is a waste of valuable school time.

When considering what to be taught in secondary school, people are still divided about whether the international news should be one of the official subjects or not. While there are benefits to adding this new channel into the classroom, there are also good reasons why it might be helpful to only focus on current curricula. The statement that international news should be studied at secondary school is strong for several reasons. In terms of social view, it would help students to gain a wider perspective of the world. In this way, youngsters can be widely acknowledged with current affairs so that they could be aware of how to behave properly. Moreover, in the education view, international news accompanied by different academic subjects such as science, literature, mathematics would complete the integrated learning, which provide students with a full development to lead their life in the future. It is, therefore, clear that global updating plays a vital role in assisting education On the other hand, it is also understandable that including international news as a subject in secondary school curricula is definitely irrelevant. First, students are now snowed with a hectic schedule, which may result in overloading if any additions. Moreover, in current education system, especially examination, it places a great emphasis on academic subjects, if students don’t concentrate enough on these qualifications, they might fail. Secondly, the violence represented in many of today's news could affect students' performance. This is because at the secondary school’ age, students are still inexperienced to understand those negative aspects. So the youngsters tend to misjudge the situations and act inappropriately. Therefore, the study of international news would be a destructive and wasteful use of school resource. In conclusion, there are convincing arguments for the study of global news into the secondary school, but it is also reasonable that it shouldn’t add to be an official subject.