Some people think secondary school students should study international news as one of their subjects. Other people say this is a waste of valuable school time.

Different people have different opinions about the subjects that should be taught by educational institutions. While some people opine that international news should be taught in secondary schools as one of the subject, others think that it is not a great idea and other subjects are more crucial. I strongly support the former idea and discuss it in detail. People who oppose the idea of introducing current affair as a school subject think that there are more important subjects such as basic computer knowledge and teaching pupils how to speak the English language because these can give practical knowledge which can help them in future by generating better job opportunities and improve the probability of bagging one. Additionally, they also think that adding a new subject would increase the pressure of studies for students who already have quite an overwhelming number of subjects to cope up with. To support the argument, consider the example of Italy, where the number of children who failed in a semester was increased by 20% when a school introduced two new subjects. On the contrary, I strongly believe that everyone should be aware about their surroundings, including children. Hence, introducing international news subjects in schools can potentially them more informative about incidents happening across the globe. In addition, this would also make them ready of any adverse situation. For instance, reading news can help avoid the spread of some deadly viruses such as Covid-19 and be prepared to fight against it. This can also educate their respective families about how to prevent it. Thirdly, this can all generate the habit of reading the newspaper on a daily base which is quite a good habit and would also improve the reading ability. In conclusion, though some people think that studying news as a subject in schools is a waste as this can increase pressure of studies on children, I believe that it is a great idea due to above stated reasons.