Some people think that schools should reward students who show the best academic results, while others believe that it is more important to reward students who show improvements. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Over the last few decades, it cannot be denied that there have been numerous improvements in world’s teaching system. While a huge number of people today hold the view that schools should give awards to outstanding students, I would also argue that it would be better to encourage pupils who reveal their progressive advancements. On the one hand, it is crystal clear that rewarding brilliant students would benefit not only in the short term but also in the future. Those who advocate this view feel that there will be a competitive atmosphere in one’s school providing that governments and schools encourage pupils who show the best academic results. He or she, for instance, may allocate a great deal of their time acquiring unknown knowledge for the purpose of winning the award. Furthermore, each school may spend their resources to expenditure on priority items such as improving the quality of teachers just for the sake of providing data which is new for students. Finally, in the long term, these excellent students might achieve a huge success in their careers and become stars in the world of work. Then perhaps they would return to support their old schools. On the other hand, I believe that it is more beneficial to encourage students who show improvements. Firstly, in the short term, majority of students will make a great effort to gain more information in lieu of having a sedentary lifestyle as a result of rewarding them. For this reason, there will be a dramatic change in education, and there will be only “better” pupils. Secondly, in the long term, this action would enhance the general quality of the whole workforce. To conclude, in spite of the fact that it would be better to solely give awards to outstanding students, I hold the perception that rewarding students who are better day by day is the best way for the reasons that I have mentioned above.