In many countries, paying for things using mobile phone apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or disadvantages?

We should be thankful to the technology advancements as it is making our lives easier. In most of the countries, paying for products through / via mobile apps is rapidly increasing. Although there are a few disadvantages associated with this development, the advantages outweigh them. The payment processing system has seen a rapid change with the development of smartphones. Adding to this, the smartphone applications are changing our lives and making them easier by virtually bringing all the facilities into our mobile phone. For instance, to check the bank balance, earlier we need to visit the bank physically but with the development of technology, we can check our balance from our banking application installed on the phone. In the similar way the debit and credit cards have been replaced by the banking application and the payment technologies like NFC included in the smart phone. All the major smart phone manufacturers like Samsung and Apple use the NFC technology to process payments. This technology helps the users to make the payments even if they do not carry the debit or credit card physically. Moreover, there are many payment gateway companies which provide cashback offers for the payment made through their application. So, there are many benefits to using the mobile application for making payments. On the flip side, making payments via mobile apps poses a few risks. As we share our banking information to a third-party mobile application, there is always a risk of falling prey to cybercrimes. Hackers can gain access to our account information if the data is not protected. At times, if any transaction fails or is delayed, we are confused as to whether we should contact the application service centre or bank to resolve the issue If the issue remains between them for a longer period of time, we need to wait till it is resolved. In real time scenarios this problem is rarely seen. To conclude, although there is a small risk of getting our data stolen or misused when we use third party mobile apps to make payments, the advantages such as cashback offers and ease of payment outweigh the disadvantages.