Some people think that schools should reward students who have the best academic results, while others believe that it is more important to reward students who show progress. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

It is undeniable that giving awards to students have been regular practice in some demographics of societies. Whether children should be awarded to those who have stood good at academics or who have showed improvement is a contentious debate. Both the views are compared ahead. It is thought by school that a number of children have done a lot of practice and hardwork prior to appear in exams. These sections of students represents great tenacity and preserverance in order to achieve well in academics. In other words, they tend to spend one-third of their quality time in self-study rather than learning new concepts at the classrooms. For instance, a study by Harvard University revealed that if the Indonesian schools had not bestowed schoolchildren with prizes and medals, then they would not have been maintained consistency in their studies. However, few young people are not likely to get high level rank in education among the class while these students have made alterations in their method of approaching any questions. This can be explained that children may have analyze their past mistakes by intervening with class tutors or personal teacher. To cite an example, fundamental subjects, particularly mathematics have various ways and means to solve the prompts. By this approach, they have been adopting methods which is appropriate for them. This is owing to fact that changing habits in a potential way, schoolchildren will deserve the rewards. By praising students in this manner, their image would be bolstered, as well as a factor of motivation could be instilled that impossible task can also be accomplished. In conclusion, although the pupils, who have secured good positions in respective classes, might be beneficial for them as they could seize opportunity to stand out again in the future, whereas children who have been gone through failures and upgrading themselves regularly would be entirely justifiable to receive awards.