Some people think that renewable energy sources can help the world to maintain its energy security. Others, however, claim that this function can hardly exist.

Governments in some countries have directed their attention to alternative sources of energy such as solar, nuclear or tidal energy. In my opinion, this development could be both positive and negative, as now will be discussed. Renewable energy is undoubtedly a step forward for several reasons. Firstly, alternative energy is unlimited while fossil fuels will soon exhaust due to the increasing demand today. For this reason, depending on fossil fuel cannot guarantee long-term sustainability. Sooner or later human will have to seek for other or additional sources of energy which are more reliable and sustainable. Secondly, environmental pollution is deteriorating at an alarming rate owing to the combustion of fossil fuels through production process. In addition, exhaust fumes from vehicles which run on oil or petroleum can also contribute to the greenhouse gases and global warming. These are closely linked with many respiratory diseases, putting the health of people at risk. However, if an eco-friendlier source of power like solar or wind is used instead, our world will become greener and therefore, people’s health can be improved. On the other hand, despite the good impacts mentioned above, I believe that using alternative energy could be detrimental to some extent. Firstly, nuclear energy can be turned into a weapon. If it is possessed by terrorist organizations, the peace of our world would be endangered. Secondly, this type of energy is largely dependent on weather, which may cause interruptions in power supply. For example, it is almost impossible for people to use solar power in cloudy days. It goes without saying that the use of nuclear power can pose threats to human beings. Nuclear radiation accident in Japan is a telling example, which had led to numerous lethal effects to individuals and disasters to the surrounding environment. In conclusion, the benefit of alternative energy is indisputable, but its downsides should not be overlooked as well. Hence, governments should take serious consideration before coming up with the most suitable type of energy for their countries.