Growing number of cities are making their centers pedestrian-only zones.

Rapid urbanization is turning city centers into areas that allow access only for pedestrians. Although this implementation has some advantages, similar to any other road access change, it has a few drawbacks also. Pedestrianization improves the safety, air quality, and liveability of public spaces. In other words, car-free development can decrease air and noise pollution and ensure better accessibility and mobility in city centers. This implementation has enhanced the volume of shopping and local property values as well. People also travel through the area in much healthier conditions and without the need to be careful of possible car accidents. Moreover, the lack of vehicles improves the aesthetic attractiveness of the local environment. For instance, buildings and different architectures become more visible to people traveling through the central area. Another benefit for architectural structures is that pedestrian-only areas and a lowered level of sound pollution can ensure a decrease in traffic-induced vibrations, which could otherwise cause various damage, such as cracking of plaster or even collapse of the whole structure. However, the restriction on vehicles can increase surrounding traffic and commuting time. For instance, due to displacement rather than substitution of car traffic, vehicle parking and traffic congestion increased, making it far more difficult for people to maneuver their car and locate a parking spot in surrounding areas. On top of that, the time designated to travel from and to work has increased. For instance, residents of the suburbs employed in the center of the city are particularly affected since the interval of commuting has become much more strenuous. To sum up, the implementation of pedestrian areas has a double-edged nature since it has established healthier and safer conditions for living and shopping activities, but it has also enhanced traveling time and traffic congestion in the surrounding districts.