Some people think that public transports should be funded by the government so that it can be free to people to use it. Agree?

It is asserted by some people that the government should fully disburse fiscal budget to public transport for residents so public transportation should be free of charge. From my personal perspective, I partially agree with this statement owing to several primary reasons which this essay aims to clearly elaborate and explain my conviction. On the one hand, it is irrefutable that there are certain benefits associated with public transport being funded. Without having to pay, an increasing number of people, especially those who do not have a private vehicle, are encouraged to travel by public transports on a regular basis by the government, thus there will result in a considerable reduction in a mass volume of emissions derived from cars, motorbikes. Indeed, it is likely to act as a revolution to stem the detrimental effects of air pollution on the environment by meritoriously putting a cap on the quantity of toxic emissions. Moreover, it is a fare-free service of state-owned public transportation because of excluding one financial burden. To be specific, citizens can save money daily spent on their personal vehicles such as monthly fuel and annual maintenance fee, hence investing on other worthwhile expenses. On the other hand, the implementation of free transport unexpectedly also has particular shortcomings besides its undeniable upsides. To commence with, it is worth mentioning that this traffic policy of the government can result in overcrowding. In fact, if public transports are fully-funded, they will be utilized by a larger number of dwellers, leading to an overloading influx of commuters, let alone governments cannot control behaviour of individuals leading to an increased number of social evils. Secondly, people may overlook values if they are freely provided with means of transport. Therefore, some irresponsible individuals will not have a tendency to conserve these public transports that causes the gradually lower conditions of them. To recapitulate, there will be both positive and negative effects if the government implements free public transports. My firm verdict is that the government should concurrently carry out this innovative policy and closely supervise it by bringing in strict control and management because this policy possibly brings about long-term benefits.