Computer use is rising rapidly in today’s world, to the point where it has become an accepted element of modern civilization. They may even grow smarter than humans, according to scientists. Some see it as a positive idea, while others see it as a detrimental one. Before coming to a sensible conclusion, this article would analyze the merits and downsides of such a situation.

As humans are living in the era of technology, witnessing the development of advanced gadgets such as the applications of computers is now considered to be normal. Taking the risk that computers might become independently smart devices which can surpass human’s intelligence, numerous people still take this scenario as a positive movement. This essay will discuss both the perks and drawbacks of the situation in order to give a sensible conclusion at the end. On the one hand, the rapid increase in computer use can act as a catalyst for breakthroughs in the science industry. Having a practical look, it can be seen that computer uses in general and even AI, one of the most successful technologies in our world, are still under human’s control and sometimes make mistakes. Not to mention the superior and unpredictable intelligence ability of humans, it takes ages for technologies to catch up with the terms ‘smarter than humans’. For that reason, as if the scientists and developers make the terms come true, it will be the biggest breaking news of the century for science in particular and for the world in general. On the other hand, this trend can lead to a rise in the unemployment rate. As computers are being used widely due to their efficient usage, they can take over human jobs, especially for employees who work in manually-labor fields. Moreover, the fast movement in the computer industry results in the new gadgets in a short time with an impressive price; hence, the poverty gap can be expressed boldly, which is one of the most contributing factors to low self-esteem. In addition, with the advancement that happens in a matter of seconds, people have to be glued to technological devices in order to update with the latest news. Thus, a reduction in work productivity due to over worrying can be caused. In short, as the rapid trend in computer usage can lead to the possible result in the surpassing intelligence in computers according to experts, I believe that its disadvantages outweigh the advantages.