Some people think that public libraries are no longer important, while others disagree.

Any library that is accessible for the general public and is usually funded from public sources like taxes is known as a public library. In my opinion, public libraries have certainly lost some of their importance; however, this does not mean that they are no longer needed. (45) We had seen in the past that people always spend some time in the public libraries on a daily basis. Public libraries were considered a symbol of literate and educated population. In short, public libraries were the greatest source of reliable knowledge in the past. (44) Presently, the public libraries are available in almost all the parts of the world. Nowadays, people of any age like to get a public library membership in order to access a wide range of books, magazines and newspapers free of cost. Moreover, the public libraries do not only offer all kinds of study materials, but also provide an excellent environment for studies. On the other hand, the invention of computer and internet has certainly reduced the number of public library users. It is now possible for people to study books of their own choice and read newspapers over the internet instead of moving towards public libraries. (104) The recent development in Science and Information technology has enabled the people to study any material over the internet. Thus, if the people keep on preferring online study, then the public libraries will surely lose their importance in the near future. (41) Hence, in my opinion, although the public libraries have lost some of their importance, however, they are still needed because they have old books and manuscripts that are not available online. (31)