Some people think that prison sentences should not be used to deal with criminals.

In recent decades, many researchers have studied the importance of prison sentences for criminals. Indeed, to my mind, there is now convincing evidence that jails should not be utilized for punishment by authorities. In this essay, I shall examine how research in human rights violation and psychological effects of deterrence supports this view. To begin with, human rights are violated in prisons. This is because the freedom of living and maintaining life standards for basic needs of a human being will be restricted when individuals are in custody. For example, a recent Cambridge study showed that violations of prisoners’ rights will be resulted in possible future criminal attempts instead of the deterrence of jails. Therefore, it is certainly the case that prison sentences ought not to be implemented to tackle with criminals. Secondly, the psychological effects on convicts at jails will cause prisoners to attempt criminal activities in the future. This is because both facilities and managements of jails will not prevent criminals to avoid committing a crime in the future. For instance, a study by Oxford found that 75 out of 100 prisoners tend to involve prospective criminal activities due to lack of psychological supports. Thus, it is certainly the case that psychological effects do not make prisoners keep away from future crimes. In conclusion, I strongly agree with the notion that criminals cannot be deterred in prison sentences. In the future, we will obviously see authorities will take an action to overcome these situations by improving the system of the law.