Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important.

In recent years, two different points of view are rising about the way for success in sport. The first view see the physical strength as the most important aspect to take into account to become a champion in a specific sport discipline. But why this point is tought to be the most important one for many? Undoubtely, the physical training in whatever sport is a fundamental process in order to aquire the total padronance and fluency in a specific moviment or to improve a specific skill necessary in that discipline. Moreover, the constant training is straightly related to the development of the muscle's fibers and eventually to the physical strength. Thus, surely a trained athlet will be performed better than an untrained one. However, other people think that mental strength is fundamental, the capability that can make the difference. Indeed, this is particularly true considering endurance sports, where the mental resistance to a prolonged stress condition allow you to finish the competition, as in the case of marathon. In my experience, as a martial arts athlet, both these aspects have to co-exist in the mindset of a complet athlet and I also think that they are two sides of the same coin. In fact, a strong training section for sure is fundamental to build up your muscles but it strongly trains you to remain focus during the entire duration of the section, necessary to properly complete the different excercises. Hence, to summerise, for success in sport it is necessary a balance between mental and physical strength beause both of them are key skills to be a successful athlet.