Some people think that physical books should be completely replaced with electronic books. Others do not consider it beneficial. Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Due to the recent advancements in technology, it is what drives masses today. It is thought by few individuals that printed books should be substituted by digital form of books. However, it is believed not to be advantageous by others. This essay would emphasis on elaborating why it has more benefits than few drawbacks, before a plausible conclusion is reached upon. Reduction in logging of trees is one among the immense benefits offered by e-books. Owing to the introduction of electronic books, the demand of physical books has been decreasing. Thus, contributing to the conservation of environment. Another reason e-books are advantageous is the availability of data. The anytime, anywhere access to knowledge has only became possible by the digital books. What is more, electronic books are more convenient, because of the fact that no one needs to carry any heavy physical books or journals. Adding text-to-speech function in digital form of books has attained the attention of new generation. Soft copy of book is shareable and can be read by many people at a time whereas physical book can be read by only one person at a time. Nevertheless, there are certain inevitable drawbacks of e-books as well. Distraction is one of them. Individuals get easily distracted by the notifications of social media or other applications. Another obvious drawback is digital divide. There are numerous people who still lack either the access to internet or knowledge to use digital devices. Perhaps, this may be the only discouraging reason why e-books are disregarded. Last but not the least, excessive use of tech-enabled methods can lead to serious health issues. Concluding all of the above, although e-books have concerning demerits, yet i believe that if physical books and digital books are compared, the latter is more beneficial than the former.