Some people think that people should be given right to use fresh water as they like. Others believe governments should control toughly over the use of fresh water.

Water is one of the most valuable natural resources, as it sustains human life. Unfortunately, there is a problem of potable water shortage, but this is not new, but a portion people today assert that it is necessary to ensure the use of this resource is under the strict control of governments. Due to the higher demand of water for industrial manufacture, daily life, and further preventing the destruction of dependent hydro-ecosystems, freshwater which is theoretically deemed as renewable, will, if consumption at present rates continues, run out one day. What is worse, the abusive use of water is common to see on farmland, in factories and the household. Therefore, supposing that governments take no actions to deter a water crisis, what would happen in the future? Would human beings be able to consume as they like? In order to combat the deteriorating situation, it is believed authority is supposed to regulate the maximum quantity of consumption in industrial production and adopt high-technology aimed at recycling used water on farmland. On the other hand, it is fair to say people do have the right to use water as they want. The main reason lies in that any restrictions might lead to poor sanitary conditions and the spread of diseases. In addition, it lowers people’s living standards and causes inconvenience. For instance, showers are only available at certain hours of a day; flowers can only be watered once a week. In summary, from my perspective, although the budget for advancing water-saving technique aggravates a government’s financial burden, it is their obligation to tackle the issue. Apart from the measures to control the consumption on a large-scale, educational campaigns should be held to instil awareness of the public need in saving water in public.