Many people believe that zoos have no purpose in today’s world and should be closed. What problems do zoos bring? What are the alternatives to zoos if they are closed? wyyr

It is a common idea nowadays, that zoos are only harming the animals that they are keeping. There are many suggestions on how to solve this problem and how to integrate animals into their natural environment. What first comes to my mind is how it affects the lives of creatures living in cages and/or yards. It is essential for children to get to know the animals that live on planet Earth, but somehow, keeping them in closed areas where they do not have any kind of inducement or natural stimulation only makes them less of an animal. This can have harmful kinematic, sensory and dietetic consequences as well. On the other hand, zoos have a positive side as well. If there are any injured animals in the surrounding areas, the employees of the zoo can help them develop certain features. Unfortunately, after they get well, they are never let back to their native environment, because the zoo would not profit on “free animals”. The number of alternative zoos is rising, because people are starting to get more and more conscious of the lives of animals. In these zoos, the animals are not the ones in cages, but the visitors are. This is widely spread in Safaris, where people can enjoy watching lions, elephants and so on. I hope that as we go forward in time, society will be able to see how zoos affect animals and how we could give a better alternative to them.