Some people think that people are responsible for their happiness. Others feel that happiness depends on other factors in their life. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Happiness is such an individual notion and it is easy to see why the discussions surrounding it are also unsettled. One of such questions is related to accountability towards it: some say it is individuals’ responsibility to be happy while others believe that there are other elements in life that contribute to this feeling. I personally share the views with ones who also credit self-accountability as a precursor of happiness. On the one hand, there are people who feel certain factors are necessary to feel content with life. They often cite stable income, luxurious mansions and expensive cars to be a cause of this divine feeling. Indeed, enjoying high living standards does have a strong impact on the way people experience contentment. Also, they fairly give a credit to other attributing factors for happiness such as peace and serenity in a country or health of their own or of their close people. Despite these all, the world has seen a vast majority of individuals who have all the above stated factors but still complain about their misery. On the other hand, I support the views of those who think feeling of happiness is their own responsibility. The reason for why I think the feeling has a lot to do with a person’s own liability is that every person gets to decide how to feel about changes and what kind of attitude they hold about their lives. This is an extremely demanding task and not every person is capable of seeing positive in their job loss, for instance. For some it may mean a desperate misery while for the person with strong self-realization it means a chance to grow in other spheres. To conclude, I think holding an ownership for our happiness is a completely personal choice which explains why for some individuals having all contributing factors is never enough to be joyful as they have not fully realized their own role to play to experience authentic happiness.