Some people think that paying taxes is enough to contribute to the society. Others argue that being a citizen involves more responsibilities. Discuss, what is your opinion?

There is a controversial issue about the size of individual contribution to the community. Some social workers state that tax payment is the right amount, while some economists say that each citizen should devote more. In this essay, I will consider both points of view and agree with the idea that more support is necessary. Let us start with reasons why some social workers argue that the money that people pay to the government as tax is the adequate deduction. The first reason is that people are overly busy to do more for community. Apart from both household duties and child rearing, people mostly have to work full-time jobs to lead a comfortable lifestyle, but if they are obliged to do more than paying taxes, they will become unbearably exhausted. Another reason is that the government attempts to hide its ineffectiveness through additional involvement of citizens. Many authorities do social work carelessly, which often results in faults, but they frequently prevent them from exposure and later ask the public for help. Therefore, it is irrational for officials to involve citizens in extra social work. However, some economists claim that residents should do more for the community. They justify their opinion with the following arguments. Firstly, the whole society can solve all chronic problems in the country. The government alone cannot address all social obstacles, as it is restricted in resources, but with the help of citizens, it can achieve more results. Secondly, responsible countrymen tend to behave better. People, who contribute more to society, are more likely to care for the cleanliness and tidiness of streets, since they know the value for the public order. Therefore, apart from paying taxes, it is reasonable for citizens to take more social commitments. In conclusion, even though some economists propagate that, besides tax payment, citizens should take more social responsibilities, I think that the payment is the best contribution that citizens can do.