Some people think that paying tax is their only duty, while others believe that we have more responsibilities towards our society.

Taxes are considered as an important source of the government’s revenue, so some people believe that paying tax is their only responsibility towards their nation. However, another panel of people argues that an individual carries more liabilities which need to be fulfilled for the welfare of the entire society. I support the latter group of people in their thought process. On the one hand, funds collected through taxes are used by the various departments of governments in the development of infrastructure, health, defence and education sector. To illustrate, the budget accumulated from the tax amount is used to build and maintain highways, roadways, railways, and public transportation and thus, making the travel convenient and time efficient. Hence, the countries collecting the taxes give more facilities to their citizens than the underdeveloped nations with no taxes who cannot afford to provide such public services. On the other hand, the public carries more responsibilities than just depositing the taxes from their income amount. For instance, they have a duty towards keeping their environment clean by not doing the open disposal of garbage, preferring bicycles over cars in the local area travel, practicing the recycling measures by using biodegradable products, avoiding the use of plastic bottles and bags, and helping the weaker section of the community in their basic needs. Secondly, active lifestyle by doing daily physical activities should be followed by the public rather than a sedentary life to prevent them from disorders such as heart attack, diabetes and obesity. This will help in building a healthier nation as prevention is always better than cure and thus, further reduce the overwhelming of the medical services with chronic disease patients. To recapitulate, I opine that regardless of giving tax, combined synergistic efforts of the entire society will strengthen the bond of unity and harmony which will subsequently result in the prosperity and the development of the entire country.