Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many people claim that it is the duty of the parents of a child to introduce them with appropriate social norms to build them as the ideal persons of society while the others think that children may acquire the knowledge of becoming a good person from school. This essay will introduce each of these views and explain why children should be taught about it from their parents. The role of parents is exclusively important to give their children proper knowledge about the great qualities of life. It should not be denied that parents are the most close members to child and a child often mimic the attitude, behavior and qualities they observe from their parents. Children feel encouraged to show honesty, punctuality, truthfulness, kindness and generosity if they notice that those things are well-practiced among their parents. For instance, a recent study showed that parents who remain careless about their children or children from broken families tend to be more self-centered and depressed. Therefore, the parents should take the responsibility to create a suitable environment and encourage their children to become an ideal person. On the other hand, the schools mainly take the responsibility of completing the academic curriculum of a student and making necessary assessments. Besides this, the teachers inspire the learners to acquire good qualities such as helping others, engaging in social work, showing kindness to helpless and so on. However, as they are primely concerned with academic area, they might not provide equal emphasis on the moral development of children. Moreover, sometimes children are also negatively affected by the bad companions they keep in their schools and their parents should monitor this issue. To recapitulate, children can be taught about the necessary characteristics for becoming a good person both from their parents and school. In my opinion, parents can serve this purpose best as children often are mostly personally attached with their parents and they can subconsciously learn from them.