Rising University fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects , like philosophy and history and only offer practical degree courses that maximise chances of employment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been seen that due to soaring tertiary education expenses as well as unemployment for fresher graduates, it is believed by some masses that philosophy and history should not be taught in colleges and they should put more emphasis on practical subjects which have relatively more work opportunities. I agree with this statement to a large extent. There are many factors why i am in favour of practical courses ought to teach in universities. First of all, in this era of science and technology, it is of utmost importance to have the practical knowledge of computers. This is because computers have been used in every field like medical, teaching, business, banking and many more others. So if youngsters have the practical information of computers, they can get jobs in IT sector and in reputed multinational companies as well, which will offer them handsome remuneration. Secondly, students must encourage to opt science courses such as medical and non medical in higher education. As in this high techno savvy era, the demand of engineers, doctors and nurses etcetera is very high. If they gain practical knowledge in such fields, then they will be able to earn handsome salary package for their livelihood. However, I do believe that the contribution of history and philosophy subjects should not be overlooked. It is a fact that history helps individuals to connect with our roots. By studying history, they come across their rich heritage and culture, traditions, rituals and it depicts uniqueness of their nation. Furthermore, philosophy also develops creativity and imagination which is crucial for further progress in life. In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that although having practical knowledge is the need of the hour, at the same time arts subjects also have a great role to play in the society.