Some people think that it is necessary to travel to other places to learn about other cultures. Others say that books, films and the Internet can be used as a source of information about different cultures. Do you agree or disagree?

It is considered by some people that traveling to another country is essential for learning that country’s cultures while there are others believe that cultural values can be gained from reading historical books, watching documentary movies or surfing the Internet. While I agree that social media are hard to ignore, I also believe that it is much worthwhile to devote resources and efforts to exploring new cultures in person. On the one hand, it is unequivocal that absorbing cultures from home is of certain privileges for individuals. To begin with, individuals can save their budget when choosing to discover cultures through the Internet. Surfing the Internet costs almost nothing but a computer set, and in some cases, a premium subscription. Also, these days modern technology with high-definition images and surround sound is to ensure the experience of the learners. Furthermore, it would avoid culture shock for people as they are not obligated to migrate to unfamiliar environment. In fact, a great number of people travelling to other regions suffer from culture shock, which makes them feel homesick, withdrawn and isolated in their new community. On the other hand, paying a visit to learn new cultures should not be neglected for some reasons. The main reason is that it can act as a booster to enhance social skills. This means that individuals are to have great opportunities to interact with many foreigners, and thus, promoting their social abilities. In addition, people cannot obtain hands-on experiences if only staying home and reading reviews posted online. Thus, they should be directly exposed to the culture that they are curious about so that they can have their own assessments without relying on others’ subjective standpoints. In conclusion, both learning cultures through social media and travelling to different countries are equally effective. Therefore, people should select their favorite one based on personal preferences.