Some people think that parents and teachers should highly monitor the behavior of children while others think that they should do what they want

Children’s behavior oftentimes has required monitoring by parents and teachers, but to what extent should it be deemed necessary and when should we allow the child themselves the opportunities to do what they want? While I disagree with the statement of children needing extensive supervision from parents and teachers, we will go into deeper analysis of both sides of the argument. With regards to highly monitoring children, their age and emotional intelligence play significant factors in determining its necessity. At a younger age, children may need to be highly monitored because they need to be taught the consequences of their actions. For example, understanding the consequences of putting their hand on an oven stove can damage their hand. Furthermore, when children grow older their emotional intelligence can develop at a different pace. Children tend to turn towards immature ego defences when they encounter adversity. For instance, throwing a temper tantrum or acting-out when they are unhappy with an unfavorable outcome. Careful insight is required when children display such tendencies. On the other hand, I side with the parents that allow children to do what they want as this creates a sense of autonomy and consciousness. Children should make their own decisions at a young age as this teaches them invaluable attributes needed later on in their life such as recognizing and resolving mistakes on their own. In addition, these children develop a better sense of consciousness as they will be more aware of their surroundings and will require less guidance as they grow older. To conclude, every child should be raised in their own unique way. While it is true that younger children may need to be highly monitored by parents and teachers up until a certain age, older children should be given the opportunity to do what they want until a reason for intervention is required.