Some people think that newspapers are the best way to get news. However, others believe that they can get news better through other media.

People have different views about what is the optimal way to update news. While it is understandable why some people think that media is ideal in terms of news updating, I personally believe that newspapers’ role in communicating news is irreplaceable because of their reliability. On the one hand, there are some reasons why many people prefer newer media outlets. To begin with, these modern media deliver news more quickly across a variety of convenient platforms. The most notable example of this is online news. The majority of people get their news from social networking sites such as Facebook, where there are tons of information updated continuously. Therefore, people do not need to subscribe to any news publisher but still be able to access information forthwith. This also means that people can save a certain amount of money when all the news from these kinds of media platforms is free to read. However, I am of the opinion that newspapers are believed to be the most important source of news for the majority of people. Information and knowledge printed in newspapers are usually verified and edited carefully before publishing, so as to minimize the risk of faulty news that would possibly ruin the reputation of the publishers. Therefore, newsreaders can update more authentic and reliable pieces of information through newspapers. By contrast, both social networks and online versions of some newspapers are overwhelmed with fake news, which is posted quickly so as to attract readers solely for commercial purposes. As a consequence, false information spreads rapidly. Accordingly, newspapers are obviously more trustworthy sources of information. In conclusion, while news can be accessed through a variety of media platforms, I reckon that newspapers are an incomparable way to get news. (289 words)