Some people think that museums should be enjoyable places to entertain people, while others believe that the purpose of museums is to educate.

People have different views about whether making museums entertaining is a good idea. Personally, I agree with those who think that museums need to be enjoyable. There is a key reason why it is believed that museums should be considered just as educational places. In fact, museums exhibit a wide range of treasures that are precious sources for those seeking to learn from history and the ancients’ lives. Therefore, if museums try to entertain people, not only will they not achieve their main purpose, that is educating people, but also their visitors will be distracted. In other words, the more enjoyable the museums, the less the number of the visitors who can focus on the underlying meaning of the exhibited objects. However, leaving the museums to be places just for teaching people about history leads to attracting only those who are really willing to be educated by them. Nevertheless, I would argue that there is an important consideration that shouldn’t be neglected while discussing educational goals. To give more explanation, there is a scientifically supported fact that human’s brain is hard-wired to learn at its highest level when experiencing joyful moments. Specifically, children, as the main target in the society to be educated, have this natural inclination to be attracted to enjoyable processes of learning. Thus, those museums which avoid being tedious and represent some kinds of entertainment are more likely to encourage people, especially children, to come for a visit and consequently, the purpose of introducing the precious heritage of that nation will come true. In conclusion, it seems to me that, although museums are educational places, it would be better to make them entertaining to attract more visitors and improve the educating process.