Some people think that museums and art galleries should concentrate on the history and art of their own country rather than the works of art of other parts of the world. with this opinion?

It is sometimes argued that museums and art galleries need to place great emphasis on the history and art of their own nation instead of the works of art of other countries. In my opinion, both types of category should be equally underlined by these sectors. In order to raise the public awareness of their past, museums and art galleries alike should focus on gathering the local artefacts. Local people should be made aware of their ancient sculpture, subscriptions, and antiques as all of these are essential for their national identity. In this way, we can also pave the way for younger generations to get to know their ancestral legacy. British National Museum can be a good example of this because many British schoolchildren go there. They can be given an ideal opportunity to have a good grasp of their own entity. Therefore, collection of the local artefacts should be one of the top priorities of museums and art galleries. As well as the native works of art, the art sector should focus on the art of other countries since it can encourage international tourism. If a museum take concrete actions to gather artefacts from far-flung corners of the world, it may establish a reputation in this matter. Consequently, many tourists may be tempted to visit the museum since they are likely to find an antique of their own country. It can be seen that Louvre museum, which is located in Paris, attracts millions of tourists annually simply because it is renowned for the collection of different kinds of art from faraway places around the globe. In conclusion, I would argue that both local and international art collection should be on the agenda because they play an indispensable role in helping the locals’ identity and tourism, respectively.