Museums and art galleries should concentrate on works that show history and culture of their own country rather than works of the other parts in the world.

It is believed that indigenous works of art should be given priority to put on display in cultural institutions such as museums and art galleries rather than sharing space with art pieces originating from foreign cultures. While I think displaying local art us beneficial to residents, I agree that exhibiting exotic artworks is of paramount importance. One the one hand, I approve the view that presenting native artworks is necessary in terms of preserving traditional and cultural customs. Museums, whose aim is to instill the value of history and tradition to people, should conserve traditional crafts, costumes and paintings that a whole nation takes pride in. The Vietnam fine art museum could be taken as an example of museum that preserves artworks originated from the country. Many other museums appeal to many local tourists can be seen from all over the world, which goes to show how crucial museums are in saving the identity of a culture and imprinting patriotism and national pride in the heart of the locals. On the other hand, the significance of foreign artworks in local galleries should not be underestimated. These pieces of art offer people the opportunities to get access to masterpieces made by eminent artists such as Van Gogh or Picasso. It is definitely the local residents that derive such substantial benefits from this kind of display. Firstly, they can broaden their horizon about other cultures through the diversity of artworks on exhibit. What is more, their spiritual life would probably be enriched. All these reasons lead me to justify my belief that foreign artworks play a pivotal role in the life of local people. In conclusion, although exhibiting local art is essential, I believe this should not only be the main focus of museums and art exhibitions, since overseas artworks also deserve to be promoted as well.