It is important to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. what sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

It could be agreed upon that, morality is becoming a chief concern in societies. Some believe that punishment is mandatory to force children draw distinction between right and wrong. In the following, I would like to indicate one disadvantage, and one advantage of punishment, mental complexity, and responsibility, respectively; and clarify as to why I partially concur with this viewpoint/perspective. On the one hand, regarding disadvantages, given there seems to be a thin line between penalty and children abuse, it should be pointed out that mental complexity as a knock-on effect of punishment could have dire consequence on children’s personality. Although, physical and verbal punishment could instantly stop undesired actions, it could not work over time; thus children would fit to aggressive behaviour or violence to cover the subjected humiliation. Furthermore, children corporal at their formative years, lies at the root of many psychological disorders in their future. For instance, punished pupil are more likely to disobeying rules, committing offenses and having depression. On the other hand, In terms of advantages, against harsh cognitive, discipline strategy could help children to take responsibility of their behaviour. In other words, parental invention to teach children laws, expectations and acceptance of ramification, will help children to mould their moral character. In addition, it seems there are eligible and effective discipline methods, which help upbringing children without any physical or mental harm. Firstly, to provide a chance for children to sit and contemplate to their actions, methods such as time over could be used. Secondly, children could understand the suffer they subjected to someone, by compensatory action, drawing an apologies to someone they heart, or by depriving children from a certain privilege. In conclusion, I reckon that, there are fair upbringing techniques to deter children from doing wrong behaviour and teaching them social skills for their future life.