Some people think that mobile phones are harmful for children, while others disagree. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

With advancements in technology, mobile phones are easily available to everyone. While mobiles have changed our ways of communication, I believe excessive use of smart phones is harmful not only for children but for adults as well. Firstly, people who think that a child must carry a smartphone with him/her, support it with a notion that technology awareness is a necessity for development in the modren era. As mobile phones provide easy excess to different types of information, it is good for educational purposes. For example, there are many applications like easy mathematics that helps students learn maths on their smartphones. Furthermore, parents are concerned regarding the saftey of their young ones due to the increase security risks in the world. They want an up-to-date information about the location of their children. The location services and tracking systems installed in mobiles have solved this problem to a certain extent. On the other hand, people with an opposite opinion base their argument on a fact that increasing social media usage has affected students badly. Individuals think that spending more time on a cell phone has distracted children and decreased their quality of education. To give an idea about how serious the situation is, a research was conducted in America in the year 2005, indicated that the percentage of the school drop outs have increased over the years. Also children want to upload every detail about their lives on social media and compare their life style with others. This has increased the rate of suicidal incidents in children. A study done in U. K in 2020 revealed some shocking results about a sharp rise in depression case in the children attributed to the mobile phone usage. To conclude, I must suggest a judicious use of a mobile phone is necessary. Mobile phones are an essential element in our lifes with many benefits as well as a few disadvantages. Therefore, in my opinion, a balance is important in its usage.