Jean Piaget’s theory of cognitive development is realistic

I think Jean Piaget’s theory of cognitive development is realistic. It is match with my personal observation of children’s cognitive development at various stages. Jean Piaget's theory of cognitive development suggests that children move through four various stages of mental development. His theory focuses not only on understanding how children acquire knowledge, but also on understanding the nature of intelligence. Piaget's stages are: • Sensorimotor stage: birth to 2 years • Preoperational stage: ages 2 to 7 • Concrete operational stage: ages 7 to 11 • Formal operational stage: ages 12 and up Piaget believed that children take an active role in the learning process, acting much like little scientists as they perform experiments, make observations, and learn about the world. As kids interact with the world around them, they continually add new knowledge, build upon existing knowledge, and adapt previously held ideas to accommodate new information. Piaget’s theory of cognitive development is realistic. When I observe my little niece. I found these similarities with Jean Piaget’s theory of cognitive development. In first stage – 0 to 2years: my Niece learn through basic actions such as sucking, grasping, looking, and listening our action towards to her. Also she realize that her actions can cause things to happen in the world around her. In 2nd stage - 2 to 7years: In this stage she begin to think symbolically and learn to use words and pictures to represent objects. While she is getting better with language and thinking, she still tend to think about things in very concrete terms. In 3rd stage – 7 to 11 years: During this stage, she begin to thinking logically about concrete events. her thinking becomes more logical and organized, but still very concrete. In final Stage – 12years and up: Teens begin to think more about moral, philosophical, ethical, social, and political issues that require theoretical and abstract reasoning. also begin to use deductive logic, or reasoning from a general principle to specific information.