Some people think that mental strength is the most important factor of success in sports. However, some others believe that it is more important to have strong and fit people.

Attaining championships in sport events is obviously a principal target for the majority of athletes. While many people hold a belief that mental prowess is the most fundamental feature for sports-related success, their opponents reckon that the essence involves physical strength. In this dissertation, ramifications surrounding this issue will be analyzed prior to my personal viewpoint in the conclusion. On the one hand, in the absence of necessary fitness whereas sport competitions ask for brute strength and stamina, attendants will by all means confront obstacles in performing relentless physical manoeuvers. Supposing that candidates have substandard strength, prompt exhaustion appears to be a significant hindrance for their performances. Physical shortcoming also includes hazardous ailments accompanying athletes during the matches. One apparent issue is the accelerating incidence of sport accidents when competitors contracting diseases or inferior endurance are more susceptible to long-lasting matches compared to strong ones. It must also be taken into consideration that mental toughness performs as a catalyst for the outcome of a match. It is virtually inevitable to have a sense of anxiety while engaging in an intensely competitive atmosphere and cheering sounds for the opponents' team from the audience hall. Being driven stressful may also deteriorate the athletes' manners to commit triumph. There are numerous prototypes that seeded performers lose bitterly to underdogs as they are not mentally-prepared enough and fail to remain calm and confident. In summary, I assertively stand on the ground that both physical and mental strength offer tremendous benefits to competitors to obtain victory. Hopefully, they will comprehend the correlation between these two features and make the most of their potential to get promotion in their career ladders.